Photo Gallery
Click to view








Gassor's I.M.A.A Interclub Tournament - Sunday 5th June, 2011
View all articles

Comments: 1

On Sunday 5th June the International Martial Arts Association I.M.A.A (umbrella name for Gassor’s Taekwon-do and Kickboxing) held their second Interclub Tournament at Duffryn Sport Centre, Duffryn, Newport.The event saw over 100 competitors taking part in the tournament with sparring, patterns, forms and jump kick competition categories taking place throughout the day.  

Families and friends came to support the day and 100% of all spectators entrance fees (adults only, as children’s were free of charge) going towards the Gassor’s Tournament Team Fundraising Fund to support their upcoming tournaments with the UK-ITF this year.The I.M.A.A also had a Tombola competition stall which proved very popular and again seen 100% of all proceeds raised going towards the Gassor’s Tournament Team Fundraising Fund.  

Mr.Ayrton Mullins and Mr. Connor Sweeting (both 1st Degree Black Belt Belts and members of Gassor’s Tournament Team) gave a demonstration showing competitors and spectators the rules and regulations of the Tournament and demonstrated the ‘points’ system when Sparring.This gave new students an insight into the Tournament and helped to gain experience for the larger UK-ITF Tournaments.All competitors received a medal for entering.  

The Tournament had 4 rings operating at all times with Umpires and Officials regulating the Tournament and St.John first aid in attendance.The mood at the Tournament was relaxed and everyone was in good spirits.  

Medal Winners were:  

Jump Kick Competition Winners:

Christopher Richards Connor Sweeting Jake Rendle Jake Seville James Shaw Jamie Yung Jessie Taylor Logan Maskell  

Gold Medal Winners:

Alex Gould (Patterns and Sparring) Ayrton Mullins (Patterns) Charlie Morgan (Sparring) Connor O’Shea (Sparring) Daniel Jones (Patterns) Ellis Murphy (Sparring) Gilbert Jackson (Patterns) Isobel Southway (Sparring) Jake Rendle (Patterns and Sparring) Jake Seville (Sparring) Jessica Heybyrne (Patterns and Sparring) Jessie Taylor (Sparring) Jordan Casey (Sparring) Katelyn Seville (Sparring) Kian Urquhart (Patterns and Sparring) Layla Bevan (Sparring) Leighton Phillips (Sparring) Lewis Churchill(Patterns) Liam Doyle (Sparring) Liam Rossiter (Sparring) Michael Williams (Sparring) Morgan Thomas (Patterns) Niamh Johannesen (Sparring) Sam Taylor (Sparring) Tegan Ives (Patterns) Victoria Jeffs (Patterns)  

Silver Medal Winners:

Amelia Robins (Patterns) Ashleigh Faulkner (Sparring) Caitlin Nail (Sparring) Camron Griffiths (Patterns and Sparring) Christopher Richards (Patterns) Connor Sweeting (Patterns) Dana McAvoy (Sparring) Ethan Seivwright (Patterns and Sparring) Finley Nessling (Sparring) Gafyn Brooks (Sparring) Jack Heybyrne (Sparring) Jacob Morse (Patterns) Jamie Yung (Sparring) Jayden Farr (Sparring) John Brosnan (Sparring) Jordan Jones (Sparring) Joseph Drinkwater (Sparring) Kyle Williams-Corbin (Sparring) Lexie Smith (Sparring) Logan Maskell (Patterns) Martin Bebell (Sparring) Milly Taylor (Patterns) Myles Bassage-Morgan (Sparring) Owen Powell (Sparring) Rhys Thomas (Patterns) Sam Reynolds (Sparring) Thomas Pelosi (Patterns) Tomos Sharwood (Patterns) 

Bronze Medal Winners:

Adam Hansa (Patterns) Alex Forehead (Sparring) Amelia Robins (Sparring) Ayrton Mullins (Sparring) Chayton Worrell (Sparring) Courton Muir (Sparring) Curtis Jenkins (Patterns and Sparring) Daniel Crawford (Sparring) Eve Lebrocq (Sparring) Hussnen Ali (Sparring) Jack Taylor (Sparring) Jack Thompson (Patterns) Jake Robinson (Sparring) James Shaw (Sparring) Joshua Taylor (Patterns) Joshua Watkins (Sparring) Kyle Gould (Sparring) Kyle Williams-Corbin (Patterns) Martin Bebell (Patterns) Michael Williams (Patterns) Monty Jackson (Sparring) Owen Powell (Patterns) Rhys Thomas (Sparring) Robert Monk (Patterns) Sam Taylor (Patterns) Tegan Ives (Sparring) Tomos Sharwood (Sparring) Zak Roberts (Patterns)  

Master Gassor added “We would like to say a big ‘Well done’ to all competitors who took part in the Tournament and a big ‘Thank you’ to the parents, families and friends who came to support the day.We would also like to thank our Umpires and Officials for their continuous support, effort and hard work in making our Club a success.Gassor’s Tournament Team are now preparing and looking forward to their next upcoming UK-ITF Tournament the English Championships taking place in July”.

Written by: Miss Emma Gassor - 6th June 2011
[Comments: 1]

Sorry, but you need to login to your account to add feedback.

Login now, or if you are not a member then apply to join here

Article Feedback:

Mark Skyrme ( UK ITF) : 7th June 2011, 11:28

Congratulations on a well run event
Follow us Follow us on Facebook Follow us on X

Write an Article

Do you have an article to submit?

If you are a registered member of the UK ITF you can add your article, with up to 10 images. You will need to be logged in, and your article will not show until it has been approved.



Are you ITF Certified?
Your Degree
This certificate along with the Mini Cert proves your current grade, the status card proves you are currently an ITF member.

These are the only credentials recognised by the ITF. Any reputable Club or Instructor are proud to display theirs with a current status card.

Find Out More
Find a School
Joins Us !
Contact Us
BTC + UK Sport Recognised
UK ITF Instructors are accredited by the British Taekwondo Council, national governing body for Taekwondo in the UK, which includes DBS/PVG Scheme Enhanced certification, insurance and continued professional development


Website design and creation © 2007-24 Black Culm Ltd